Breaking the Fourth Wall

 

After 3 bottles of wine, it tasted better than it looked...

After 3 bottles of wine, it tasted better than it looked…

 

I was cooking spaghetti and meatballs on Sunday, my best friend bursts through the door and said something to the effect of, ‘Goddamn, I love me the smell of garlic, olive oil, and herbs being sauteed.  I can smell that shit from the street.’  Picture a six-foot-six guy from Georgia as a bull in a china shop and that’s what were dealing with.  That me to thinking, out of all the things I’ve smelled in both my grandma’s kitchen, or any of the professional kitchens I’ve worked in, or restaurants, what’s my favorite kitchen smell?

 

For me, it’s almost as easy choosing your favorite child, my favorite smell is sliced chiles and garlic sauteed in a super hot pan.  The fragrance from the garlic fills the kitchen and the spice from the chile literally warms your eyes.  There’s nothing better.  Well maybe fresh baked chocolate chip cookies.  Or bacon.  Or lasagna.  Or pancakes.  You get the idea.

(ed. note :  I don’t have children, so I live vicariously through my friends with kids and I don’t I could choose my favorite out of theirs.)

 

What’s your favorite smell in the kitchen?  Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “Breaking the Fourth Wall

  1. Bacon would hands down be my favorite smell. Bacon perfume. Bacon lotion. Bacon toothpaste. Bacon in the kitchen. Best smell ever!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

