Breaking The Fourth Wall

Stop the Mom-and-Pop Homogenization!

I’m all for the mom-and-pop shop’s and restaurants where the owner is there from open to close, making sure his or her dream is being realized.  From the menu, to the tables and chairs, to the paint scheme.  They put their blood, sweat, and bank accounts onto the roulette table and let it ride.  Not only do I respect that, but I wish I had the balls and brains to do it myself.  (Maybe one day I’ll get balls and find a brain laying around somewhere) What I’m not a proponent of however, are these people who open up cookie-cutter-cafe’s.  You all know what I’m talking about.  It seems as though they get a kit in the mail and throw the doors open.  They all have the same menu, they all have the same chairs and tables, and they’re almost always names.  Elaine’s Authentic Blah Blah Blah. Rita’s Original This That or the Other. Or Nick’s Homemade Gobbledygook.  Shit, I ate at one this morning for breakfast and it looked like Rachel Ray farted all over the walls.  I felt like I was on the set of 30-Minute Meals.  And although I’ve never tasted her food, the food is what I would imagine hers to taste like.  I’ve never tasted shit either, but do I need to in order to have an idea of what it would taste like?  I’m not saying it was bad.  It was just, meh.

 

These people don’t need to be the next David Chang, or even the next Chipotle.  But when it comes down to it, if you’re opening someone else’s idea and concept, instead of what is in you’re head and your heart?  Then you’re probably better off actually putting your chips on the real roulette table in Vegas.

Leave a Reply

