Breaking the Fourth Wall

Sometimes the scariest things are the things we have yet to do.

Sometimes the scariest things are the things we have yet to do.                                           –Me

 

I am always doing things I can’t do — that’s how I get to do them.          –Pablo Picasso

Well try not having a job and starting a blog, Pablo.

I can’t describe the feeling of utter joy and chilling fear coursing throughout my body these days.  I’m so happy to not be in a kitchen, getting shit on for 14 hours a day.  Trying and doing my best, only to be told it will never be good enough and I should just give up.  I still love cooking and food more than ever, but I won’t ever miss getting demeaned and treated like something less than human.  The yelling and the cussing comes with the territory.  I get it.  I guess it’s the lack of respect I always had a problem with.

Either way, I don’t have to worry about that anymore, because my work environment now consists of wherever my laptop is plugged in.  I’m creating and cultivating my own ideas and seeing them through.  And I’m scared shitless.  This is going to be a hell of a ride and I can’t wait to see where I/we end up with this blog moving forward.

What scares you most about the future?  Have you ever done something you questioned at first, but ended up regretting or appreciating afterwards?  What’s your favorite way to be creative?

 

Leave a Reply

